Connect with us

BJP Sweeps Bengaluru Civic Elections

BJP Sweeps Bengaluru Civic Elections

The Bhartiya Janata Party emerged victorious in the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) council elections, winning in 100 of the 198 wards.


The Congress managed to win 76 seats, becoming the second major party, whereas the Janata Dal (Secular) won in only 14 wards. Out of the remaining eight wards, four were won by independent candidates and four by candidates of other parties.


Voting for the BBMP council poll was held on Saturday in 197 of the 198 wards. Although 7.4 million voters had registered, the turnout recorded was only 49%.


This is the third big victory for the BJP this month after it won civic elections in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh. In 2010, the BJP had won control of the BBMP for the first time, winning 111 wards. The Congress had won 66. Though the Congress has improved its tally from 2010, the outcome is expected to be a huge setback for the Siddaramaiah-led Government in Karanataka.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular



To Top
error: Content is protected !!