Connect with us

Pentathlon At The Olympic Games

Pentathlon At The Olympic Games

A classic contest played out in five acts: fencing, swimming, horse riding, shooting and running – with all the events taking place on the same day.



Part of the Olympic Games since Stockholm 1912, modern pentathlon has men’s and women’s competitions.


Related Stories:

The first three events (fencing, swimming, and show jumping) are scored on a points system. Those points are then converted into a time handicap for the final combined event (pistol shooting and cross-country running), with the points leader starting first and each other competitor having a delayed start based on how many points behind the leader they are.


This results in the finish order of the run being the final ranking for the event.


We are glad to bring you this fact check. If you are happy with our mission to keep the internet safe of disinformation, do support us by clicking on the link

(BOOM is now available across social media platforms. For quality fact check stories, subscribe to our Telegram and WhatsApp channels. You can also follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Linkedin .)

A Staff Writer

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top