BOOM UP Election Trail: Will Demonetisation Derail BJP's 4 Time MLA From Agra North?

BJP MLA Ajay Kumar Garg has won 4 consecutive times but demonetisation may turn out to be a big factor in his re-election

Agra North is part of Agra district and one of the five assembly constituencies in the Agra Lok Sabha constituency. First assembly election in this assembly constituency was conducted in 2012 after the constituency came into existence in the year 2008 as a result of the "Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008". A BJP stronghold, the party MLA Jagan Prasad Garg has won four straight terms (since 1998). He was elected during the by-elections in 1998. In his second and third terms, he contested from Agra East which ceased to exist post delimitation in 2008.

Agra North is at the heart of the district's business centre and have faced severe problems during the recently concluded demonetisation of high denomination notes. There are 15 candidates participating from various parties and all are businessmen. The Times of India reports the bullion market is believed to have suffered a loss of nearly Rs 500 crore, leaving over 40,000 goldsmiths unemployed and an equal number of skilled labourers in the unorganised shoe industry, agriculture and other sectors losing jobs.

MLA: Jagan Prasad Garg (BJP)

Education: Graduate

Key rivals: Gyanendra Gautam (BSP), Atul Garg (SP)

MLA claim:

I have undertaken several development works in my constitutency, building bridges and roads by co-ordinating with the PwD.

Voters Speak:

Water supply is big issue

Water borne diseases have increased

Traffic Jams and broken roads are yet to be improved

MLA has taken initiative to improve services but should have delivered more on the promises made.

Election Date: 11/02/17

Result Date: 11/03/17

Phase: Phase-1

BOOM UP Election Trail: Will Demonetisation Derail BJP's 4 Time MLA From Agra North?

Show Full Article
Next Story